My Visit to the Tip Shop Glenorchy

 

Recently I visited the Tip Shop run by the Glenorchy Council. Glenorchy is a suburb of Hobart that I often visit for shopping and errands. The Tip Shop is actually a shop on the premises of the local rubbish dump where you can buy secondhand goods, vintage items, collectables, furniture, bikes, toys, electrical goods etc. The idea is to recycle rather than have all that waste end up as land fill. Tip shops are very popular with everyone. I often find it hard to get a park for Wazza my Ford Falcon. I’ve had some very good finds at good prices although you have to weigh up the prices in your head a bit. Would I be better off buying this item somewhere else? Would I be better off buying this item new? It all depends on what you are buying of course. Quite a lot of people buy things with the plan of fixing them up. There is a big board there with people’s finished projects posted on it. People have made things out of things they have bought or restored something like a piece of furniture. I found Pedigree Penny there. She was very dirty and had lost most of her hair. She was working ok and I got her for only $10.00. Vanda soon had her nice and clean and later we are going to choose a new wig for her. I found a beautiful old typewriter there from the 1950’s that had been marked down to almost half price so I got that for myself. I’ve picked up a few nice little bits and pieces too such as tins, ornaments, pots, vintage toys and books. Here are some of my Tip Shop finds.

 

One of the things I enjoy about The Tip Shop are all the sculptures made out of scrap metal. Some of you might have seen my “Cee’s Oddball Challenge” photo of  the scrap metal man. There are a lot of these sculptures around the grounds and I took a lot of photos of them while I was there last time. I have put them together in a slide show for you to see. If you have something like the Tip Shop in your town keep an eye on it as you never know what you might find there. Remember one man’s trash is another man’s treasure or should I say person’s treasure! What ever you can find some really interesting stuff there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.