Daily Prompt: Blossom


via Daily Prompt: Blossom

nectarine blossom

nectarine blossom

Whenever  I see blossoms in spring I think how pretty they are but I also remember my mum who would say “Never bring blossoms in the house. It’s bad luck.”

I have no idea why it is bad luck. Some superstitions make some kind of sense. Don’t walk under a ladder. Well, that could get you into an accident.  Peacock feathers in the house are unlucky, well they might look like they have the evil eye to some people.

I ended up doing some reading about plant related superstitions and wrote a post about it entitled “Superstition – Unlucky Plants”  . 

To my surprise it turned out to be my most popular post ever. Who knew so many people were interested in why blossoms shouldn’t be brought into the house or why you should not have red and white flowers in the same vase ? That was a new one on me too when I read about it. If you want to know why read my post.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Blossom

  1. The blossoms are very pretty all the same. I don’t have flowers indoors because I hate cleaning up all the mess after doing the same in the hospital all day. I think I read somewhere that there was a rose that was bad luck. Was it a black one?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

