Weekly Photo Challenge: Wanderlust or The Urge To Roam


via Photo Challenge: Wanderlust

wanderlust
ˈwɒndəlʌst/
noun
  1. a strong desire to travel.
    “a man consumed by wanderlust”

When I was a child I read “The Wind in the Willows” by Kenneth Grahame and I was particularly entranced by the chapter “Wayfarers All”. As I grew older I loved to hear my mother’s stories of visiting Egypt and India when her father was in the British Army. It gave me a taste for the excitement of travel even though at that age the furthest I had travelled from our home in Romford was Clacton on Sea.

Four weeks on a ship to Australia  in 1966 was my first big travel adventure and I hoped it would not be my last.

I could not get enough of travel books, guide books and maps and travelled to many places in my head long before I left Australia again. I am lucky as I did get to see some of the places and things I wanted to see, The Great Wall of China, Red Square, Irkutsk, Loch Ness, the Tallylyn Railway and Uluru are all standout memories.

Now that I am older I love my home more and would not want to be away from it for months on end but I haven’t given up hope of seeing more of Australia and the rest of the world. There are still days when I just want to pack a bag and go somewhere just for the joy of the journey.

Leave a Reply

