Stop and Smell the Bacon and Eggs


Daily Prompt: Fry

Frying gets a bad press these days. It is associated with an unhealthy diet of fatty foods and frowned on by health authorities and vegetarians. Last year animal rights group PETA  even suggested that Eggs and Bacon Bay here in Tasmania should have its name changed.

For me, as for many British people around the world, the Great British Breakfast is still high on the list of comfort foods. When I was growing up we would have bacon and eggs for breakfast at weekends when there was more time to enjoy it. I loved fried eggs and a rasher of lean bacon. We preferred the leaner bacon and cut the rinds off. Mum thought streaky bacon was a waste of money as you got such a lot of fat in it.  She used to fry with lard but later changed to a polyunsaturated cooking oil or if we had run out a dab of table margarine would do the trick. We would usually add fried bread on the side and sometimes a tomato and maybe even a sausage and baked beans. It was a big filling meal washed down with numerous cups of tea and we took our time over it. These were the time when we would have long talks. Mum would tell stories about when she was a little girl or what it was like in England during the war and other stories of days before she was married. We’d talk about what we would do if we won the lottery, where we’d like to go and what we’d like to see and do. We laughed  a lot and usually ended up making a second pot of tea. Eventually breakfast would come to an end when mum would suddenly realise that she had to “get on” and put the Sunday roast in the oven (another weekend tradition).

I rarely cook bacon and eggs for my breakfast now as it isn’t the same for one person on her own. I do occasionally make it for my evening meal in winter, if I’m tired and don’t feel like cooking. As I said, it is comfort food for me. Naomi and I were delighted to find that we could have bacon and eggs for breakfast on Explorer of the Seas last year. We would get up early and go up to the Windjammer Buffet for breakfast. It was quiet first thing in the morning and we could enjoy our breakfast and plan our day in  a leisurely way. As our morning plan usually included laps around the pool deck I did not feel guilty about eating fried eggs and bacon.

Lyme Regis harbour 02b

8 thoughts on “Stop and Smell the Bacon and Eggs

  1. I am pretty much I’d love the fried egg with beans, sausage and tomatos… if I can skip the bacon 🙂 Actually did put a fried egg on my morning toasts sometimes. Doesn’t happen too often but I did that sometimes and I like it. But generally this is something I would more often do in the evening… here in Germany (not sure if this is a Northern German thing, or just a thing in my family), we sometimes do eat bread in the evening with fried egg on it and fried onions. I do like to put a bit of ketchup on the egg then.

    Talking about health, I think experts are right… but I myself believe in doing things in moderation. I wouldn’t enjoy life if I would need to skip all kind of things. If I would listen to experts, I would probably only eat plants and drink water. I like fried things, I like meat and so on. Once in TV I saw a talk show that invited medical experts as guets and they pretty much talked about that stuff… I think six people and there were two faction, which means a 3vs3… one faction said you need to skip everything, and one doctor in the other faction argues that our body regulates how much sugar, how much fat and stuff like that needs our body. I was a bit surprised that this doctor looked more healthy than all three of the other factions (laugh). Same counts when I go into a health food store, I was always under the impression that the people that buy there look like everything but not healthy… that’s probably a declaration of war against anyone who is vegetarian (laugh), but just my impressions.

    I think it goes like this, if you eat too much of certain things, it’s probably unhealthy, if you skip it completely, it’s probably not good either. Since I saw the TV talkshow, I always think about the agruments of this doctor and I believe he is right. For example, I always wondered why there are months where I don’t drin milk at all, and then I have a week where I can’t get enough milk… believing this guy, it’s probably regulated by my body and when I need more calcium or not for example. Or maybe I like the arguments of this guy because I pretty much lived by this standard since I am born (laugh), because I always eat or drink whatever I want to eat or drink in the moment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • True, especially in the media there is always a new headline about what not to eat… it really makes you wonder what would be left. The truth is, I can be hit by a thunderbolt tomorrow, or hit by a car… I really don’t want to starve myself before something bad happens.

        However, I know one of my friends never eats salads or vegetables… I told him “This is a big no no” because my motto is eat what you want to eat but have vitamins in the mix. I think it’s not healthy at all to never eat vegetables or fruits.

        Like

      • I agree, there has to be some fruit or vegetable content in the diet. I thought that humans were omnivores but there seems to be a lot of dissent on that subject. In any case a balanced diet of meat, fish, fruit, vegetables,dairy products and chocolate works for me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

