Things


I “know” the author through our mutual love of dolls though we have never met. What she says here about things is exactly how I feel. People dont’ seem to value things anymore and it makes me sad to see treasured family items being thrown out with no thought to what they meant to their owner. Several dolls in my collection were given to me by people I care about and that makes them special even if they are not valuable or special in any other way.

Good Woman Going to Waste

Today, I’m making a stand for things. Things as in things – objects, items, material possessions. This is partly because I’m in the very long process of cleaning out my things and those of people no longer here and partly because I’ve read a couple of those inspirational memes that do the rounds every so often. You’ve probably seen them, the ones that say things like ‘use things not people, love people not things’, and ‘the most beautiful things in life are not things, they’re people places, memories and pictures, feelings, moments, smiles and laughter.’

While I absolutely agree that one should not use people, I think that some things are worth loving, and while yes, people, places, memories, pictures, feelings, moments, smiles and laughter are beautiful, things can be too.

We certainly live in a society where far too many people place too much importance on material possessions, but…

View original post 339 more words

2 thoughts on “Things

Leave a Reply

