Share Your World- 2017 – Week #3


Sharing My World This Week

Do you prefer juice or fruit?

I prefer fruit. I like the look and feel of eating fruit as well as the taste. The crunch of an apple, the feel of a ripe peach or the colour of fresh cherries makes them more attractive to me. Juice is just….juice.

I like the crunch of an apple

I like the crunch of an apple

 

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

Although I spent my early years in England I really grew up in the suburbs of Adelaide, Australia’s fifth largest city although back then it was the fourth largest; we had a fierce rivalry with Perth over that. However, I spent my first few years in Australia in Elizabeth a proclaimed city 25 kms north of Adelaide; it was known as a satellite city so you might say a city within a city. By world standards Adelaide is not a large city and I was glad of that. It was a good place to grow up. We lived in a house with a decent sized garden, it was an attractive city then and I was very happy living there until the 1990s. Large cities are fun to visit but I think smaller ones are more liveable, at least for me.

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colours would you use?

I think that the first few years in England would be the grey of the rain and fog and dirty snow on the streets in winter with a trim of sand, pebble grey and sea blue for holidays.  The Australian years were golden, sunshine and blue skies in a place I loved living in.

 

Rush green london.jpg
By MRSC at English Wikipedia – Transferred from en.wikipedia to Commons by Kafuffle using CommonsHelper., Public Domain, Link

I remember this corner in Rush Green, Romford from early childhood although the shops are different now of course.The following one is of Clacton on Sea where we spent many happy holidays.

 

Clacton Pier 03 (Piotr Kuczynski).jpg
By PkuczynskiOwn work, GFDL, Link

Ways to Relax List: Make a list of what relaxes you and helps you feel calm.

  • Reading
  • Knitting
  • watching TV if it is not something stressful like the news
  • Doing things with my dolls like redressing them, photographing them and writing about them.
  • Photography always relaxes me because I focus on what I am doing not on other things.
  • Sitting in my garden is relaxing too especially if the neighbours who like to fix cars are not at home.

If I’m feeling stressed and nervous I sometimes find I can’t concentrate on reading, knitting or television. Instead I will try to visualise something in great detail. I might mentally decorate a room, choose the colours and the furnishings or plan a perfect day on holiday or at home. That always helps me fall asleep at night if I can’t go off right away.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week and this week I have been having a break from the Op Shop and getting some needed jobs done at home such as getting quotes for work I want done to the house. On Saturday night I went to see our Hurricanes play with friends. Sadly we lost but it was a fun experience to go with a young family. The two boys both loved their first cricket match.

Four happy Hurricanes fans and one contrary minded Scorchers fan in the middle.

Four happy Hurricanes fans and one contrary minded young Scorchers fan in the middle.

This coming weekend I will be going on a road trip to Launceston with my friends Allyson and Matt. We’re going to a charity cricket match on Friday night and the next day we will do some exploring as Ally would like to visit the Blue Lake near Derby in the northeast of the state.  She has just bought a brand new SLR so we are looking forward to doing some photography.

3 thoughts on “Share Your World- 2017 – Week #3

Leave a Reply

