Share Your World – 2016 – Week #50


Sharing My World This Week

Where did the year go? How can it be week #50 already? Anyway here are my answers for this weeks challenge.

What is your favourite smell? What memory does it remind you of?

I can’t pick just one favourite. I like the smell of coffee and toast in the morning, and the smell of something good in the oven. I like the smell of freshly mown grass and a pavement after it’s been raining. However, the smell that brings back memories for me is the smell of coal burning. When that sooty smell is in the air I remember all the happy times we had riding on and photographing steam trains.

What type of pet do you have or want to have?

At present I have a dog (Cindy) and a cat (Polly). In the past I have had canaries and finches and when I was a child we also had budgies. I enjoy birds more in the wild now though.

Cindy and Polly

Cindy and Polly

 

Are you usually late, early, or right on time? 

I’m more often early than not. I like to allow time in case something goes wrong especially when travelling and often I allow too much and end up spending two hours at the airport before a flight. I always try to get to appointments a few minutes early to have time to compose myself as I get nervous when I have to see people.

The only time when I used to be consistently late was when David and I were out shopping together. I’d want to go off and look at dolls, clothes and other things that he was not interested in so we’d arrange to meet after half an hour or so. I hardly ever got back to him on time. Luckily he didn’t mind.

For recharging, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, qigong other?

When the weather allows I like to sit in my garden and listen to the birds and the sound of the wind chimes that hang in the apple tree.

The garden bench.

The garden bench.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Last week we had our annual Christmas parade in Geeveston and although it was cold I’m grateful that the rain stayed away. Our Op Shop had a float in the parade and we were lucky enough to win a prize.

This week I’ve just done a quick trip to Hobart to see Ovation of the Seas and over the next week I’m looking forward to catching up with friends for a pre-Christmas get together.

 

3 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 – Week #50

Leave a Reply

