Share Your World – 2016 – Week #35


Sharing My World This Week

 

List 2 things you have to be happy about?

  1. I have my health. Despite a few aches and pains, difficulty in getting up from chairs or off my knees and a dodgy back that sometimes inconveniently goes out on me I am in reasonably good health.
  2. I live in a beautiful part of the world with a climate that is not too hot and not too cold to be comfortable.

If you could take a photograph, paint a picture or write a story of any place in the world, what and where would it be?

That’s a tricky one to answer, there are many places I’ve visited and fallen in love with but I guess the place I love most to photograph and write about is my own home state of Tasmania.

Should children be seen and not heard?

I wish that they didn’t make  that high pitched shrieking noise that toddlers are so good at but I don’t think that we need to go back to Victorian times when children were barely seen and not heard from except when asked. I do think that a lot of children these days behave in a way that my mother would certainly not have tolerated from me. I think that even young children can be taught to respect other people and not, for example, run around everywhere in restaurants disturbing other diners or picking things up that don’t belong to them in shops or other people’s homes. This is not always the children’s fault as they need to be taught and some parents seem happy to let their children run amok while they do their own thing. I don’t have children or grandchildren myself which may be why I find this sort of thing aggravating or perhaps I’m just becoming a grumpy old lady.  I just think it’s never too soon to learn courtesy. I’ve never liked television programs that featured wise cracking kids who talk back to adults either. I don’t find it cute and it is even less so in real life.

List at least five of your favorite first names.

For girls it was easy:

  • Natalie
  • Valerie
  • Rebecca

I had to think about the boys names but here are a couple I like.

  • Ian
  • Jeremy

 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Last week Naomi and I went to the doll show in Hobart where I bought a doll and she bought a teddy bear. I met a local doll collector who reads my doll blog which was nice too. Naomi had also found me a Pedigree Walker at the Tip Shop who needs some work but will be very nice when she is all fixed up.

Penny the Pedigree Walker.

Penny the Pedigree Walker.

After the doll show we enjoyed a lovely relaxing afternoon at the Grand Chancellor Hotel in Hobart where we had High Tea. I also enjoyed seeing the Green Rosellas back in my garden again and my daffodils are all coming up. I was especially pleased about that because after all the garden disruption and the dry summer I thought I had probably lost them.

The rest of this week will be the usual Op Shop and chores at home but I am happy at home so that doesn’t matter.

3 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 – Week #35

  1. Sounds like you had a fun week with a doll show and high tea! I love your photos of Tasmania. It’s somewhere that I never knew enough about to even imagine what it was like there so it’s interesting to see your photos and read your posts about it. It looks like a beautiful place to live and visit.

    Like

  2. I agree with you about wise-cracking children in tv shows. As a teacher (of primary age children), I have noticed over the years that children think it is ok to be cheeky or answer back to a teacher, which would never have happened years ago. I do try to explain to them that on a tv show it is entertainment, not real life, and being rude or cheeky at school isn’t appropriate! I also agree about children running around in restaurants – their parents should be guiding them as to what is acceptable behaviour, but often they are just engrossed in their own conversations (or mobile phones) and don’t care what havoc their child is wreaking. I think I might be a grumpy old woman too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

