Share Your World 2016 – Week#1


Sharing My World This Week

Another year has begun and with that a new series of Share Your World. Here are my answers for this week.

As a child, who was your favourite relative?
I wasn’t sure if this question was meant to be about any relative or relatives outside the immediate family. If the latter I would have to say my mum’s mother who we called Nanny. We didn’t see her often, usually just once a year during the summer holidays but although I was shy with most people I never felt that way with her. I used to love to hear mum’s stories about her although some of them were hard to relate to the sweet old lady that I knew. Mum used to say that she was the best cook and to this day I still have a fork that she used to use for mixing and use it as my cooking fork. I guess I hope that some of that talent will rub off on me.

A painting of my grandmother done in the 1930's.

A painting of my grandmother done in the 1930’s.

My grandmother in middle age, before I was born.

My grandmother in middle age, before I was born.

 

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?
I must be very unimaginative. I never picture myself as a plant, an animal or a thing. However, if I were a tree or plant the first thing that popped into my head is an oak tree. They are tall and strong and I love them.

Parliament House Lawns

Parliament House Lawns

What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon?
I would prefer to wake before dawn and enjoy more of the day or at least have the pleasure of lying there thinking “I don’t have to get up yet.” If I wake up late I feel cranky with myself for wasting the day unless I have been up very late the night before. Even then I try not to be in bed after 9am.

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?
Both sound quite interesting prospects. I think swinging gently in a tree as in the photo with rustling leaves all around would be lovely. The only thing that would put me off is my fear of falling. How do I get into the tree? Do I have to use a ladder? What if it gets really windy and I get blown down? Underground burrows are nice and secure and have climate control. In our hot climate there are a few places in Australia that have underground accommodation. Coober Pedy in South Australia is one of those and I’d like to try that.

The Look-Out Cave provides underground accommodation in abandoned opal mines at Coober Pedy, SA. Many miners still live in dug-outs underground to avoid the sweltering heat of summer in Australians inland deserts. 1989.
The Look-Out Cave provides underground accommodation in abandoned opal mines at Coober Pedy, SA. Many miners still live in dug-outs underground to avoid the sweltering heat of summer in Australians inland deserts. 1989.
by CSIRO

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
Last week I enjoyed seeing the yachts in Hobart as I do every year. My sister and I went on a shopping excursion and visited the newly opened Myer store in Hobart. We had not expected to like it much as modern department stores don’t seem to have as much in them as they used to but we were pleasantly surprised by both the layout of the store and that they actually had things we wanted to buy. This week is more like “back to school” week for me as I have to start on contacting tradespeople, lawyers and government offices about things I have to get done. I am not expecting any nasty surprises however. I am looking forward to Sunday when my friends Ally, Matt and I will be going to see our Hurricanes play cricket against our second favourite team the Perth Scorchers.

image scrapbook page

A scrapbook page I made for my cricket album a couple of years ago.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World 2016 – Week#1

Leave a Reply

