Port Huon – Tasmania


The view of the Huon River from halfway up Percy St, Port Huon

The view of the Huon River from halfway up Percy St, Port Huon

I went to visit my sister for the weekend and Hubby came to pick me up from Hobart today. On our way home he asked me “Would you mind if we made a small detour? I’d like to show you something.” I said it was fine with me and when we reached Port Huon which is a couple of kilometres from our home he took me up the side road next to the Kermandie Hotel. We climbed uphill on a narrow, unsealed road. There are many roads like this in our area and most of them make me a bit nervous but the views are always worth it.
We didn’t need to go to the end of the road, just a short distance up the hill was a place where Hubby could pull off the road and that is where I took this picture and others. You can see the Port Huon Wharf on the left and on the right the fish farms that belong to Huon Aquaculture. In the distance to river winds away towards the D’entrecasteaux Channel.

The photograph was taken from the road next to this location.

 

2 thoughts on “Port Huon – Tasmania

Leave a Reply

