Scrapbooking


scrapbooking

scrapbooking (Photo credit: lars hammar)

I’ve always liked to take photos, ever since my first attempts with mum’s box camera. I like to record what I see, the things I love, things I find beautiful and things that I fear will disappear one day.

Hubby likes to take photographs too and after 35 years together we have an awful lot of pictures.

image cupboard full of photos in boxes

I will probably never get all the photos in these boxes into albums

A few years ago I became interested in scrapbooking and while I’m never, ever, going to get all our photos into albums it is an enjoyable hobby and one that I can either do alone or with a friend. I really started to make  albums because a lot of my old photos were in those sticky page albums and I had read that over time they would do the photos more harm than good. In fact a lot of pictures from the 1970s were looking rather faded so I started to get rid of all those albums and find a better way to store and display pictures. I learned that the best album pages are acid free and lignin free so that is what I use now. My doll room/sewing room is now also a scrapbooking room and the equipment is starting to take up more and more space. At scrapbooking workshops I am amazed at the amount of stuff that dedicated scrappers bring with them. Most of them seem to have a storage cart the size of a small suitcase and a often a tote bag or two as well to carry all the papers, cutting tools, pens and embellishments for a day.  They look as if they are going away for a week which makes me wonder how much stuff one takes to a scrapbooking weekend? At home I’ve even joined in an online crop night. I am a slow worker but I don’t let it worry me that my output is not as great as other people’s.

image scrapbooking equipment

Participating in an online crop night

image scrapbook page

Much later, a finished page.

Although I enjoy doing  the decorative bits for me the photographs and the journalling are the most important part of every page. It’s so easy to forget things as time goes by so I want to record not only the who, where and when but also something of the why as well.

One of ideas that I learned about and have tried is making albums on a particular theme. I made one about all the pets we’ve owned over the years. I’d been gathering up all their photos and storing them in one box but now we have the album it is much easier to look at them. I wrote something about each pet beside their photos. Below is a page featuring Tammy and Nicki the dogs we had in the 1980s.

image scrapbook page

Pet album-yes that’s me in younger days-photo D Jensen

Last summer I took such a lot of photos at cricket matches that I decided to make a cricket album which turned out to be a lot of fun to do. I also made a family album for Hubby. As all of his family live far away from us and he doesn’t do social media I thought it would be nice for him to have some recent photos of them all. I contacted everyone and asked them to send me some and finished the album in time for his birthday.

A lot of people these days prefer digital scrapbooking and either arrange their pictures onto online pages before having them printed or they just keep everything on the computer. There are so many ways you can view photographs now.  Even with traditional scrapbooking there are a lot of short cuts. Some companies make pre printed pages with decorations on them already. All you have to do is stick the photos in the designated spot. I’m afraid albums like these make me contrary though. I don’t like being told where to put my pictures or how many I can have on the page. I don’t mind digital albums, I’ve always quite enjoyed doing that sort of thing but there is something satisfying about a completed traditional album and I’d have to say that it is my favourite kind of scrapbooking.

image scrapbook page

A page I made for my cricket album

Here are some links to some scrapbooking blogs.

Leave a Reply

